23rd February 2014

 On Monday we began the class talking about last weekend. Silvia asked us about what would we erase from our weekend? I answered her I would definitely erase the EUDE conference on Sunday. It was supposed to be related to business protocol but it was just protocol. I don’t really care about what is the right position for flags….It was disappointed because I had wasted my time and I don’t like it at all!!

We continued the class with an exercise in groups. We had to prepare a presentation about what the Personal Management Interview is. We were the first group that presents the topic. We said that the main objective of PMI is to create a bond with the employees using supportive communication, offering tools to them for their own improvement and also giving them solutions for their daily problems. We talked about the stages of PMI, we thought it’s needed to start with a compliment or asking about personal things not related to work, for example how the weekend was. After that we can made an open question in order to give employees the chance to explain us the situation and how they feel about the job. In this moment of the PMI, we would have two different situations: 1. If the employee said there is a problem, you both could try to find out the solution together. 2. If the employee said there isn’t any problem, you could objectively show him/her that the problem exists and then goes to step 1. We think it is very important to verbalize there is a problem and what kind of problem it is. To finish PMI, we said that, although there were a problem, it would be a good end if we given a positive feedback. As a result of all of these, the relationship between manager and employee would be reinforced.

After all the presentations, Silvia continued with theoretical part of the class about PMI.

The next class on Wednesday began with a Silvia’s question: Have happened something wonderful today? YEEEEEES, I said. Very early in the morning, I had attended to a discussion session in the BBVA Innovation Center. It was very interesting for me because it was called “Health 2.0: new communication models” and I want to start up a company related to this business area. The organizing company is “mpg School of Health” and they will begin a Master on April. The discussion session was the opportunity to promote the Master. I had the opportunity to meet the teaching staff and talk with them about the program. Finally, I decided to study the Master and I guess it’s a good decision for my future.

After few of us shared our positive experiences, Silvia started the explanation about Personal Management Interview. She described the agenda in minute detail. There was something that attracted my attention: When PMI is finishing, both parties must sign a summary of the interview as an agreement in order to ensure both clearly understood their assignments.

The next topic was the power of expectations. We talked about Pygmalion effect, that it is the phenomenon in which the greater the expectations placed upon people, the better they perform.

We saw this video and we also made a personal exercise to resume. We had to think in something that we can’t change and we think is bad for ourselves. We have to write several reasons why we think that. I wrote “I’m bigmouth. I speak a lot about everything”. I always have problems with people because of words and I suffer a lot. Many times I am focused in others willing. I try to please everyone and it’s a huge waste. I share all of my opinions with my family and sometimes my parents are concerned for me in excess. In the other hand, I used to say what I think in a direct way and others get offended.

And after thinking and writing, Silvia told us to give reasons for the opposite. In spite of reasons written, I enjoy discussing. I used to talk when nobody wants to. I have a lot of things to share and I want to do it. And finally, I think you can love me or you can hate me. It’s your choice.

While I was writing I remembered a boss I had in a great company, he told me about this topic mostly every day. The big hand I clapped it was in his honor!!!!

We finished the class with a motivational video I’ve already seen few days ago.

Responder

